I’m to be in Orlando for at least 5 nights for business

DWQA QuestionsCategory: Florida State Registry LawI’m to be in Orlando for at least 5 nights for business
Anonymous asked 8 months ago

I am an RSO with residency in Missouri.
I’m supposed to be in Orlando later, for around 5 nights for business conference, and had wanted to extend it as a family vacation. But now i’m learning about insane registration laws even for someone who doesn’t actually LIVE in florida (ie vacation or business travel)
This is probably on the site already somewhere, but its really freaking me out as again, its for my job:
the following comes direct from florida law enforcement website:
“Temporary residence” means a place where I abide, lodge, or reside, including, but not limited to, vacation, business, or personal travel destinations in or out of this state, for a period of 5 or more days in the aggregate during any calendar year and which is not my permanent address or, if my permanent residence is not in this state, a place where I am employed, practice a vocation, or am enrolled as a student for any period of time in this state.
“Transient residence” means a county where I live, remain, or am located for a period of 5 or more days in the aggregate during a calendar year and which is not my permanent or temporary address. The term includes, but is not limited to, a place where I sleep or seek shelter and a location that has no specific street address.
and then after that it describes a registration process that includes going to a DMV for  a florida driver license.. I’m not planning to MOVE to FL, just be their for business and possibly vacation. Why in the world do i need a FL driver license?
Please elaborate on this apparent insanity and if i’m reading that right?
So if i travel to & stay in florida for 5 consecutive days, i’ll have to register as a resident of florida and get a new drivers licence?  and/or if i travel and stay in Florida in AGGREGATE of 5 days (so for example two separate visits), i’d have to do the same: register and get a new drivers license.

1 Answers
Florida Action Committee Staff answered 8 months ago

You are reading it correctly. You are required to register if you stay for more than 4 days. AND you must get a Florida Identification Card (not necessarily a drivers license) within 48 hours of that. The only way to describe it is insane.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This