Watch video of Senate Rules Committee meeting in which SB 234 was on the agenda, and despite numerous objections, the bill passed the Rules Committee.  You can watch the video here, starting at 1:19.


We have a member representing FAC today in opposition of the SB 234, as is, and will strongly suggest an accurate definition of “a day”.  Approximately 200 appearance cards will also be delivered to the meeting in opposition of SB 234, as is.

Senate Bill 234 will be heard by the Senate Rules Committee this Thursday, March 4, 2021 at 9:00-11:00 A.M.

This bill will redefine the meaning of “day” to include “part of any calendar day”. FAC has submitted a letter in opposition to the Bill which you can read here: Letter to Rules RE SB234. Additionally, we plan to have a member speak before the meeting.

We are calling on all members to contact the members of the Senate Rules Committee by calling and emailing them via the information below, and asking them to OPPOSE SB 234. Please remember to be polite and professional. Remember, they (absent Senator Book) were not the one introducing this bill, they are considering it, so be mindful of that when communicating with them.

You can also fill out an appearance card and waive speaking against the bill.  

  1. Open this Sample SB 234 Committee Appearance Form:
  2. Enter your name, job title, address, email and phone
  3. Save (Download with your changes) the completed form with your name in the filename:  example    AnnaK.pdf
  4. Email completed form to: [email protected]

The blank appearance card can be printed from here: Please make sure you have the date of the meeting (March 4, 2021), the Bill Number (SB 234), all your contact information, that you waive speaking AGAINST the bill.  If using the blank form, scan and email a copy to [email protected]

We must receive your form by 5:00 pm Wednesday March 3 so that we can present it in Tallahassee on March 4, 2021.

CHAIR: Senator Kathleen Passidomo (R) (850) 487-5028 [email protected]
VICE CHAIR: Senator Ileana Garcia (R) (850) 487-5037 [email protected]
Senator Ben Albritton (R) (850) 487-5026 [email protected]
Senator Dennis Baxley (R) (850) 487-5012 [email protected]
Senator Aaron Bean (R) (850) 487-5004 [email protected]
Senator Lauren Book (D) (850) 487-5032 [email protected]
Senator Randolph Bracy (D) (850) 487-5011 [email protected]
Senator Jeff Brandes (R) (850) 487-5024 [email protected]
Senator Manny Diaz, Jr. (R) (850) 487-5036 [email protected]
Senator Gary M. Farmer, Jr. (D) (850) 487-5034 [email protected]
Senator Audrey Gibson (D) (850) 487-5006 [email protected]
Senator Joe Gruters (R) (850) 487-5023 [email protected]
Senator Travis Hutson (R) (850) 487-5007 [email protected]
Senator Debbie Mayfield (R) (850) 487-5017 [email protected]
Senator Bobby Powell (D) (850) 487-5030 [email protected]
Senator Kelli Stargel (R) (850) 487-5022 [email protected]
Senator Perry E. Thurston, Jr. (D) (850) 487-5033 [email protected]

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Let's Spread Truth

Share this post!